Home > Uncategorized > Veritable Vegetables

Veritable Vegetables


I finally signed up for a CSA. A Community Support Agriculture vegetable box is truly one of the best features of California. Every week, a box of seasonal, farm-direct, fresh organic groceries gets delivered right to my office. And for all my fellow Canucks, you don’t have fly the coop to Cali – I just discovered the same exists in Toronto and Vancouver! It costs me quite a bit less than buying the same array at Safeway, and I never know what I’m going to get. Every Wednesday is a colorful Christmas miracle (actually, it would nice if they wrapped it in fancy gift paper) – purple carrots, orange cauliflower, black raspberries; oh, and fava beans the size of human fetuses.

While convenience, health and taste are motivators enough, I really dig the adventure. It’s so easy to go back to the same old veg at the grocery store – one less thing to think about. But with the CSA, I just get what I get, figure out what it is, and figure out what to do with it. It opens a whole new world of flavors and recipes. Now, instead of spending my “food time” wandering the aisles, I spend it learning.

Have I sold you yet?

My CSA box for this week

It's like a beet is strangling a carrot

Jolly Green Giant sized!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

