Home > Uncategorized > And we’re back…

And we’re back…


The blog thing was on hiatus for a while there. In fact, I’m not sure it’s back yet. Like a tentative toe in a cold lake, I’m testing things out. I’m going to take a different approach – lead with photography.  I’ve discovered that when we turn on our computers, our attention spans become about the same as a hummingbird’s – we get a sense of things and then we flutter on to the next shiny object. Writing in that environment is tough, and I commend those that are able to keep their blogs current. I felt like I was running on a treadmill, feeding the internet beast; my content was never enough and the expectations were relentless – yes, even from my 27 readers. And yet, the more I wrote, the less people read. You probably didn’t even get to that sentence. Or this one.  So, I’m going to start posting nice shiny pictures. Ones I take. Not for their photographic merit necessarily, but because there’s something interesting about them. Something I find interesting anyway. And I might throw down a few words about why you should find it interesting too. That’s it. Sorry about all the words here.

This is a bee. A bee that met it's demise at the sharp edges of my bladed spokes. The spokes on the wheel on my bike. My bike, that at the time, I was riding in the Wildflower triathlon. The triathlon that's the largest in the U.S. with some 7500 participants. 7500 participants of the 1.2 million in the U.S. that participated in a tri last year, 51% more than three years prior. 1.2 million people with an average income of $126,000. So you see, it's not just another bee caught in another spoke.

  1. May 17, 2011 at 4:21 am

    So? Did you win the triathlon?

  2. james bates
    May 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Hey Simone for what it’s worth I am glad you have your “toe in the water again.” I really enjoyed reading your blogs. Hope all is well in SF!

    Jamie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

